The Uncontented Horse

1 Jul

Was there a moment in your life where you asked God for more of what you have, not because you NEED it but simply because you want it? Just because it is what you think makes you more admirable?

I have read a story yesterday about a horse who asked for more, and I’m sharing them to you.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

There was once a cosmic god who owned a beautiful horse. To many, the horse is already perfect. It has all the good qualities  any horse could ask for. However, the horse is still unhappy. Instead of thanking its god for the gift of beauty, it always prays for more and more and more beauty.

One day the horse said to the cosmic god, “Oh Lord, you have given me beauty. You have given me other good qualities. I am so grateful to you. But how I wish you could make me more and more  beautiful. I would be extremely, extremely grateful if you could make me more beautiful. I wanted to be perfect.”

The cosmic god said, “I am more than capable to make you more beautiful. Tell me in what way you want to be changed.”

The horse said, “It seems to me that I am not well proportioned. My neck is too short. If you can make my neck a little longer like my neighbor, my upper body will be infinitely more beautiful. And if you can make my legs much longer and thinner like my other neighbor, then I will look infinitely more beautiful in my lower body. I will then be perfect like what I wanted to be.”

The cosmic god said, “Then be it!” Then immediately he made a camel appear in place of the horse. The horse was so disheartened that it started to cry, “Oh Lord, I wanted to become more beautiful. In what way is this kind of outer form more beautiful?”

The cosmic god said, “This is exactly what you asked for. You have become a camel. You have longer neck and much longer and thinner legs.The horse cried, “Oh no, I do not want to become a camel I wish to remain a horse. As a horse, everybody appreciated my good qualities. Nobody will appreciate me as a camel.”

The cosmic god said, “Never try to achieve or receive more than I have given you. If you want to lead a desire-life, then at every moment you will want more and more. But you have no idea what the outcome will be. If you cry for a longer neck and legs, this is what will happen. Each thing in my creation has its own good qualities. The camel is not as beautiful as you are, but it carries heavy loads and has a tremendous sense of responsibility.”

 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
 
Think about it. Reflect.
 
 
If you ever wished to be more beautiful, start from within. Be contented of what you have. Being beautiful doesn’t mean a colored face and dresses like royalties wear.
 
 
Beauty is not skin deep. Beauty is appreciating God’s grace.
 
 
 
I believe that we are who we are for a reason, and we are how we look for a reason.
 
 
 
Stay beautiful. XOXO, KC Cabrera
 
 
 
 
 
4 Responses to “The Uncontented Horse”

  1. Sam July 1, 2012 at 07:30 #

    Agree. We should never ask for more when we already have enough. XD

  2. Areen July 1, 2012 at 07:34 #

    Is the horse in the post yours??

    • KC Cabrera July 2, 2012 at 10:23 #

      No…. I got them from the internet.But I wish to have one.

Leave a Reply

