Mr. McDreamy

13 Oct

 

Most girls probably has an endless checklist about her preferred boyfriend or “Dream Guy” as it is called.

Mine goes like this…

“MY MR. MCDREAMY”

  • BRITISH preferably (if not, then I’ll go for ITALIAN or FRENCH)
  •  Athletic
  • Conservative (I hate PDA)
  • has an IQ more than mine
  • Can sing
  • Can play the guitar
  • someone who smells like a rose
  • at least 5’11 tall
  • can read and write
  • at least 5 years older
  • has a pool in his house
  • has a nice car
  • knows how to cook
  • sweet
  • has clean nails (insane! yeah i know)
  • funny but knows when to be serious
  • driven
  • focused
  • smart-mouthed
  • NOT shy
  • confident
  • can get along with my parents
  • not a womanizer
  • not a drunkard
  • has a smile that would turn everyone else’s knees to jello
  • FILTHY……RICH
  • HANDSOME
  • WHO WILL LOVE ME forever
  • LOVES GOD

And so the list is endless….

When I read my list I always end up laughing at it. I know pretty well that this kind of guy doesn’t exist and even if he does, he won’t be for me (and yeah, makes me cry.. =’C ).

Let me share an article written by a writer who married a Filipino singer. She had a list much longer than mine, she didn’t get the perfect guy according to her but with the perfect guy God wants  her to be with.

…………………………………………………………..

Long before I met my husband Raymond, I had written God a wish list.  In it were about 84 items, the characteristics I wanted in my “dream guy.”  I had some really profound entries (“Must love God more than me”), some were inane (“Must look and smell good”) and some were insane (“Must have a nice car”).  I figured if I had to ask the Lord for my dream guy, I might as well be specific, right?

So years ago, when I knew my relationship with Raymond was moving from professional to personal, I whipped out that prayer list and scanned it.  Raymond got about 79 items covered (including the three mentioned earlier), which left out about five things.  I know that’s about 94 percent right there and I should have been happy, but I have to admit I was a little disappointed that I didn’t get all I asked for. 

Just before our wedding I took a look at that list again.  There was nothing I could do about the five items, but I realized there was a prayer written at the back of my list. I knew I’d written it, but I never really bothered to read it again until then.  In it I said, “Lord, this is my wish list.  But you know me better than I do, so You pick the best guy for me.”

That was when it dawned on me that I really didn’t get the man of my dreams, because dreams can only go so far.  I never thought of asking for a husband who would stroke my hair in the morning and wake me up with kisses.  I never thought of asking for a man who would want me with him every single moment of day.  I never thought of asking for a man who, in the middle of his cooking, would embrace me then suddenly thank God in prayer for me and the   gift of marriage, right there in the kitchen while the osso buco is simmering.  I never thought of asking for a man who would assure me of his love in the middle of a heated argument. I never thought of asking for a man who would push me to try things I never would have dared if I didn’t know he believed so much in me. 

Sharing a bed with him almost always means a tangle of legs, arms and sheets, sometimes even a sleepy tug-of-war over a pillow. But I never knew how an arm resting on your waist, a leg wrapping itself around you, or a sleepy hand over a cheek caressing you out of a bad dream could bring about some of the most wonderful feelings in the world. Some things just never felt so right. 

Everyday I am thankful that the Lord disregarded my wish list and heard my prayer instead. And there are times when I wake up in the middle of the night and marvel at how , in the darkness, our hands somehow found each other as we slept, and I fall asleep again, thinking that really, I have all I need. 

………………………………………………………………

The above  article was written by Mia Rocha Lauchengco (a writer who married   Philippine singer and actor Raymond Lauchengco).

This is just one of the million proofs that we don’t need a list full of inane and sometimes insane items of our “DREAM GUY”. God has someone for us. He knows who is our perfect match. We just have to trust Him. HE knows what’s best for us more than our mothers do.

I’m not telling you to shred your list and burn it (but if that’s what you wanna do, go on). I mean, you’ve spent hours putting that list together!

All I’m saying is that, you don’t have the slightest clue of who you’re gonna end up with. If you stick with your list, you might end up disappointed or discontented.

XOXO, KC Cabrera

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Mr. McDreamy”

  1. Kat October 13, 2012 at 02:55 #

    True. I kept a long list too but it has just 5 items in it.

  2. James October 16, 2012 at 01:08 #

    choosy girls….if you die at 23 you won’t be able to kiss someone’s lips.

Leave a Reply

